Batesville, County Seat for Panola County in the South.

Panola County, Mississippi has two county seats. The southern county seat is in Batesville. Batesville got it’s start from the community of Panola which was located about one mile northwest of the present day city. Panola was the first county seat but that changed with the coming of the railroad.

Batesville was chartered in 1866 and named after Jim Bates, who was a local Methodist Minister.

Batesville became county seat as Panola passed into history and the old town was taken over.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.